VMS Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 27, 2014, 11:14:15 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News:

Virtual Machine Shop Forum  |  Machine Tool Technology  |  Questions, answers, ideas  |  Topic: Chinese junk « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Chinese junk  (Read 5538 times)
Ron
Admin
Registered Member

« on: July 03, 2008, 04:37:42 PM »

What is your experience with Chinese machine tools?
fanelli18
Registered Member

« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2008, 08:09:07 PM »

They make junk,

Yes its very cheap and if its a tool you need once and may not use it again for a long time. Or just don't have the cash, Its the way to go.

If its gonna be a regular use tool, And you have the cash buy top quality tools. You'll buy 100 cheap Chinese (insert tool of choice here) to 1 Top Quality tool (insert tool of choice here)
jcollazo
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2008, 10:35:10 PM »

For me, it depends if the tool is for mission critical or casual use.

Being a hobbyist, I would love to get my hands on a Southbend but the budget said that a Chinese 7x12 with upgrades from Little Machine Shop and A2Z will sit on my bench.

fjmarcos
Registered Member

« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2008, 02:21:11 AM »

I have used cheap Chinese tools for noncritical works and the result has been good.
Also use American, British, German and Spanish tools. The prices of these are higher and the quality also. I recognize that some tools  I have not could have bought if they were not of Chinese origin and cheap.
Ron
Admin
Registered Member

« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2008, 07:15:50 AM »