VMS Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 30, 2014, 04:47:37 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News:

Virtual Machine Shop Forum  |  Machine Tool Technology  |  Questions, answers, ideas  |  Topic: How To Calculate Mill Spindle RPM? « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: How To Calculate Mill Spindle RPM?  (Read 4329 times)
Zero Cool
« on: December 25, 2006, 06:31:50 AM »

Hello,

Newbie here. I am looking for basic information on milling. I recently purchased an old but very hefty Mill/Drill and i need some basics to get started. I am interested in making aluminum parts for audio projects i build.

I found information on cutting speed. but how do i calculate spindle rpm for a given bit diameter and material?

For example, if i am milling 1/4" thick aluminum with a 1/2" 4 flute end mill. what RPM should i set the machine up for?

I will be milling slowly by hand at first and adding PC Based CNC later. Quality of work is more important then speed. etc.

Thanks

Zc
Ron
Admin
Registered Member

« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2006, 06:52:51 AM »

Hello,

Newbie here. I am looking for basic information on milling. I recently purchased an old but very hefty Mill/Drill and i need some basics to get started. I am interested in making aluminum parts for audio projects i build.

I found information on cutting speed. but how do i calculate spindle rpm for a given bit diameter and material?

For example, if i am milling 1/4" thick aluminum with a 1/2" 4 flute end mill. what RPM should i set the machine up for?

I will be milling slowly by hand at first and adding PC Based CNC later. Quality of work is more important then speed. etc.

Thanks

Zc
Every material has a "cutting speed"
Its up to you to know what that is for the material you are machining.
Cutting speed is not RPM... cutting speed is the speed in linear feet per minute that a given tooth on the cutter will be moving when it slices through the material